Expositions Catalogues, guides, booklets Articles and reports Research

The Second World War was over six decades ago, however the disputes concerning the property right on so-called «trophy art», the cultural values moved as a result of the Second World War, are still being hold. In 1945-1946 a significant amount of historical and cultural values from the won Germany was moved to the Soviet Union as an indemnification for the caused damage. They were taken out on the lawful bases according to the agreements between the countries-winners of the fascist Germany. At that time nobody challenged that Germany and its former allies should compensate partially an enormous damage which caused the cultural property of our country.

From 1955 to 1960 the Soviet Union transferred the most part of the values which were taken out to the first post-war years from the territory of Germany, in German Democratic, Polish National and Hungarian National republics. Totally more than 1,5 million museum subjects, including 1240 products of the Dresden gallery, 16 thousand sheets of a drawing, more than 100 thousand coins (from which 4187 gold), 18 388 monuments of ancient art were transferred only to GDR . The Pergamum altar, a treasury of the Saxon princes electos («the Green arch»), the Saxon ground library, the Berlin state library, the most part of Gothic library, 800 tons of archival documents returned to their places.

The rest part of the transferred cultural values (less than 10 percent from the total number) was placed in the store rooms of the State Hermitage, the State museum of the fine arts of the name of A.S. Pushkin, the State Historical museum, other museums, libraries and archives.

In 1998 «the Federal law concerning the cultural values, which has been moved to the USSR as the result of the Second World War and which now are situating in the territory of the Russian Federation» was passed. At that time, the active works on the inventory and definition of the former state accessory (the former owners) began in the establishments of the Russian culture storing the transferred cultural values. The works are being held now. The received results are fixed in an electronic database of all transferred cultural values of the Russian culture.

Since 1990th the information on the transferred cultural values is widely published in scientific and popular scientific editions.

Cultural values are shown at exhibitions and are included into the museum expositions. Thanks to this work thousand works of art, books, manuscripts and the archival documents which were earlier inaccessible to experts and wide public has been already attached into a scientific and cultural turn.


© 2006—2022 Development and support by Central computation office of the Ministry of Cultural Affairs of the Russian Federation

Каталог Выставки Выставки Каталоги, путеводители, буклеты Каталоги, путеводители, буклеты Статьи и доклады Статьи и доклады

Вторая мировая война закончилась семь десятилетий назад, однако до сих пор ведутся споры о праве собственности на так называемое «трофейное искусство» — культурные ценности, перемещенные в результате Второй мировой войны. В 1945-1946 гг. из побежденной Германии в Советский Союз в качестве компенсации за причиненный ущерб было перемещено значительное количество историко-культурных ценностей. Они вывозились на законных основаниях в соответствии с соглашениями между странами-победительницами фашистской Германии. Тогда никто не оспаривал того, что Германия и ее бывшие союзники должны хотя бы частично компенсировать колоссальный ущерб, который был причинен культурному достоянию нашей страны.

С 1955 по 1960 гг. Советский Союз передал большую часть ценностей, вывезенных в первые послевоенные годы с территории Германии, в Германскую Демократическую, Польскую Народную и Венгерскую Народную республики. В общей сложности только ГДР было передано более 1,5 миллиона музейных предметов, в том числе 1240 произведений Дрезденской галереи, 16 тысяч листов графики, более 100 тысяч монет (из которых 4187 золотых), 18 388 памятников античной культуры. Вернулись на место Пергамский алтарь, сокровищница саксонских курфюрстов («Зеленые своды»), Саксонская земельная библиотека, Берлинская государственная библиотека, большая часть Готской библиотеки, 800 тонн архивных документов. 

Оставшаяся часть перемещенных культурных ценностей (менее 10 процентов от общего числа) была помещена в запасники Государственного Эрмитажа, Государственного музея изобразительных искусств имени А. С. Пушкина, Государственного Исторического музея, других музеев, библиотек и архивов.

В 1998 году был принят Федеральный закон «О культурных ценностях, перемещенных в Союз ССР в результате Второй мировой войны и находящихся на территории Российской Федерации». Тогда же в российских учреждениях культуры, хранящих перемещенные культурные ценности, были начаты активные работы по их инвентаризации и определению бывшей государственной принадлежности (бывших владельцев). Работы продолжаются и сегодня. Полученные результаты фиксируются в электронной базе данных всех перемещенных культурных ценностей Роскультуры.

С 1990-х гг. информация о перемещенных культурных ценностях широко публикуется в научных и научно-популярных изданиях.

Сами культурные ценности демонстрируются на выставках, включаются в музейные экспозиции. Благодаря этой работе в научный и культурный оборот уже введены тысячи произведений искусства, книг, рукописей и архивных документов, являвшихся ранее недоступными для специалистов и широкой общественности.



© 2006—2017 Разработка и поддержка: ГИВЦ Минкультуры России